The Security Warning Messages in Google Chrome
Article by George Norman
On 02 Nov 2009
It is already well known that the Google developed Chrome browser has the fastest JavaScript engine in the browser world. What some users may not know is that Chrome focuses on speed as well as security. To be more precise, Chrome wants to make the user’s browsing experience a safe one. And the manner in which it does this is by displaying security warning messages when the user attempts to visit a known malware spreading site or a known phishing site.

The warning message goes like this:
Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer
The website at SITENAME appears to host malware – software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that hosts malware can infect your computer.


Advertising

This is not the only security warning message you’ll see in Google Chrome. The browser will check the security certificate of the webpage you want to visit; if Chrome finds something odd about the certificate, it may display one of the following messages:

This is probably not the site you are looking for

This message is displayed when the URL in the security certificate is different from the site’s actual URL.

The site’s security certificate is not trusted

To be trusted, security certificates need to be issued by a trusted 3rd party organization. Anyone can easily create a certificate, but it cannot be trusted unless it came from a recognized organization.

The site's security certificate has expired!
This one is self-explanatory. If the security certificate has expired, then Chrome cannot verify that the site you want to visit is secure.

The server's security certificate is revoked!

The site’s security certificate has been issued by a recognized 3rd party organization, but it has been marked as invalid. Because the certificate has been revoked, Chrome cannot verify that the site you want to visit is secure.

“It's a good idea to heed these messages you see, even if the site you're trying to visit is owned by someone you know and trust. Hackers can take advantage of security holes on a site without the site owner's knowledge. So even though you've visited your friend's blog without any problem in the past, the warnings can still show up one day if someone exploits a vulnerability on the site,” explained Google’s Fiona Chong.



Tags: Google, Chrome, Security
About the author: George Norman
George is a news editor.
You can follow him on Google+, Facebook or Twitter

I Hope you LIKE this blog post! Thank you!
What do YOU have to say about this
blog comments powered by Disqus
Popular News
By George Norman on 17 Aug 2017
With the blockbuster movie season upon us, Sony decided to celebrate the occasion with a sale: the Attack of the Blockbusters Sale that offers discounts of up to 50% (60% if you’re a PlayStation Plus member) on a ton of PS4 video games.
By George Norman on 17 Aug 2017
Samsung’s new T5 portable solid-state drive (PSSD) uses the latest 64-layer V-NAND technology, offers between 250GB and 2TB of storage capacity, has a lightweight and shock-resistant design that’s smaller than the average business card, and delivers industry-leading transfer speeds of up to 540 MB/s.
Related News
By George Norman on 21 Jun 2017
Fidget spinners, the toys that the internet loves to hate, have managed to grab Google’s attention. The search engine is offering a virtual fidget on desktop as well as mobile. Simply search for "spinner" and Google Search will bring up a fidget spinner quick answer card.
By George Norman on 09 Aug 2017
Android started out as an underdog, as the mobile operating system that nobody took seriously. Big-name tech companies laughed it off and critics said it would fail miserably, but Android proved them all wrong and become the powerhouse that it is today.
By George Norman on 14 Aug 2017
Opera Max, the Android app that uses compression technology to help you save data and get up to 50% more from your data plan, has been discontinued. The app is no longer featured on Opera.com and it’s no longer listed on Google Play.
By George Norman on 10 Jul 2017
With technology constantly evolving, many devices become obsolete and get replaced with something that's better, smaller, and probably a lot shinier.
Sponsored Links
Hot Software Updates
Top Downloads
Become A Fan!
Link To Us!
The Security Warning Messages in Google Chrome
HTML Linking Code