Malware Spreading Adult Sites Promoted on Mozilla Dev Planning Discussion Group
The Mozilla Dev Planning site is the online place where we get the latest scoops on Mozilla developed software products, like for example the fact that the second Beta version of Thunderbird 3 was made available for download (details here). One poster apparently decided that the best way to celebrate the last weekend of February and the beginning of spring would be by posting links to adult sites (that would be porn).
The poster, which did not create a profile on the Mozilla Dev Planning site, identified himself only by an email address: actiscili@gmail.com. According to Stop Forum Spam, this email address corresponds to a user called FoessyCot, and the originating IP address is 210.7.95.12 – that would indicate the spammer is from India. FoessyCot uploaded a total of three posts, all advertising various forms of amateur adult pics and adult videos. Each post contains a list long list of keywords (for example “amateur america videos”) and a series of links.
It goes without saying that clicking on any of the links provided in the three different posts will not lead you to any web page hosting adult content. If the start of the spring has got you all hot and bothered, you will have to address your amateur pics and videos needs some other way, because the links provided by FoessyCot lead to malware infested sites.
It is not exactly news that spammers and malware spreaders will try to benefit from all and any situation that would help them get you infected with malicious software. What I find troublesome is why the posts have not been taken down by now: they were posted on the 27th of February and it is now already the 2nd of March. I will admit that people visiting the Mozilla Dev Planning site are not exactly “technically challenged” so to speak, but the porn posts leading to malware hosting sites are an eyesore on an otherwise very informative discussion group.

Tags: Mozilla, Firefox, Dev Planning
The poster, which did not create a profile on the Mozilla Dev Planning site, identified himself only by an email address: actiscili@gmail.com. According to Stop Forum Spam, this email address corresponds to a user called FoessyCot, and the originating IP address is 210.7.95.12 – that would indicate the spammer is from India. FoessyCot uploaded a total of three posts, all advertising various forms of amateur adult pics and adult videos. Each post contains a list long list of keywords (for example “amateur america videos”) and a series of links.
Advertising
It goes without saying that clicking on any of the links provided in the three different posts will not lead you to any web page hosting adult content. If the start of the spring has got you all hot and bothered, you will have to address your amateur pics and videos needs some other way, because the links provided by FoessyCot lead to malware infested sites.
It is not exactly news that spammers and malware spreaders will try to benefit from all and any situation that would help them get you infected with malicious software. What I find troublesome is why the posts have not been taken down by now: they were posted on the 27th of February and it is now already the 2nd of March. I will admit that people visiting the Mozilla Dev Planning site are not exactly “technically challenged” so to speak, but the porn posts leading to malware hosting sites are an eyesore on an otherwise very informative discussion group.

Tags: Mozilla, Firefox, Dev Planning
I Hope you LIKE this blog post! Thank you!
What do YOU have to say about this
blog comments powered by Disqus
Popular News
By George Norman on 10 Feb 2012
With the release of Wolfram|Alpha Pro, the team behind the popular computational knowledge engine took a very big step forwardBy George Norman on 10 Feb 2012
Microsoft has just announced that this February, as part of the Patch Tuesday program, it will roll out a grand total of 9 security bulletins to all customers all over the world.Related News
By George Norman on 02 Feb 2012
Version 10.0 of the very popular Firefox web browser has been released to the web. This new version comes with aBy George Norman on 27 Jan 2012
We all start the year with resolutions, such as “this year I’m going to more carefully watch what I eat”, or “this year I will try to be less stressed”. Most times we discard these resolutions just as easily as By George Norman on 08 Nov 2011
The Mozilla Foundation, the non-profit organization behind the Firefox web browser, set Nobember 8th as the release date for the final version of Firefox 8. This means that every user out there will be able to get version 8.0By George Norman on 27 Sep 2011
Sometimes all you want to do is watch a video in your browser and focus on the video and video alone. You don’t care for the text, you don’t care for the banners, you don’t care for the ads, you don’t Advertising
Hot Software Updates
Top Downloads
2.
Opera5.
Trillian8.
AIM9.
Skype10.
Ad-Aware12.
Nero13.
Google Earth14.
Picasa15.
Winamp16.
iTunes17.
RealPlayer18.
uTorrent19.
eMule20.
WinRAR21.
BitComet22.
WinZip23.
Shareaza24.
CCleaner25.
Recuva26.
Tweak UI27.
CuteFTP Home29.
Adobe Reader30.
NewsPiperBecome A Fan!
Link To Us!
Malware Spreading Adult Sites Promoted on Mozilla Dev Planning Discussion Group
HTML Linking Code
HTML Linking Code





