Game On 2010: Mozilla Introduces the First Batch of Judges
Article by George Norman
On 27 Oct 2010
Back in September we were glad to announce that Mozilla launched a new initiative called Mozilla Labs Gaming. The initiative focuses on games developed, delivered and played on the Open Web and the browser, and on Open Web Technologies such as Open Video, audio, WebGL, touch events, device orientation, geo location, and any other free, open-source tool that works across platforms and modern web browsers.

Alongside the Mozilla Labs Gaming initiative, Mozilla launched the Game On 2010 competition, which kicked off by the end of September. Game On 2010 is an international competition open to developers from all over the world who want to create complex and not so complex games with Open Web technologies.


Julie Shin Choi, who manages the Game On 2010 competition for Mozilla Labs, has announced that the first batch of judges has been selected.

“It’s time to unveil our first batch of expert judges for the Mozilla Labs Game On competition,” said Choi. “Each of these individuals is an expert in their own domain from from gaming to academia, fashion and more. We are grateful for their willingness to take time out to participate as the inaugural crew of Game On judges and help us evaluate game entries after the submission period closes on January 11, 2011.”

The people who will be judging the Game On 2010 competition, the first batch at least, are as follows:
  • Anand Agarawala - Interface designer, software developer, inventor
  • Dion Almaer - director of Developer Relations at Palm
  • Paul Bakaus - CTO of Zynga Germany
  • Ryan Carson - founder of Carsonified
  • Jacinda Chew - Art Director for Insomniac Games
  • Erik Christensen - programmer and game designer at Sony Online Entertainment
  • Greg Cohn - Sr. Director, Global Head of Product, Yahoo! Games, responsible for Yahoo’s Games and game developer strategy worldwide
  • Greg Costikyan - runs the blog and the site
  • Danc - Chief Creative Officer at Spry Fox
  • Mark Danks - Co-Studio Head for Zoë Mode San Francisco
  • Brendan Eich - CTO of the Mozilla Corp
  • Ben Galbraith - director of developer relations at Palm and the co-founder of
  • Alex Iskold - Founder/CEO of GetGlue
  • Sutha Kamal - technology architect at Fjord
  • Florian Landerl - co-founded Platogo
  • Tan Le - head of Emotiv Systems
  • Cathy Leung - professor at Seneca College in Toronto, Ontario.
  • Hilary Mason - lead scientist at
  • Peter Merholz - founding partner, board member, and president of Adaptive Path
  • Phil Morle - one of the founders of Pollenize, a group that builds and invests in web businesses in Australia.
  • Nilay Patel - managing editor of Engadget
  • Robert Reich - founder of OneRiot and creator of OneRiot’s patent pending algorithm
  • John Resig - author of the book Pro JavaScript Techniques
  • Jörg Rheinboldt - started
  • Neal Sample - eBay’s vice president of architecture
  • Jakob Sommerhuber - founded Platogo
  • Jon Stokes - co-founder and Deputy Editor at
  • Paul Tarjan - webhacker at Facebook
  • Robyn Tippins - community manager at the Yahoo! Developer Network
  • Jonathan Trevor - architect, researcher, manager, developer, hacker. He is currently at Polyvore.

Additional details on the Game On 2010 judges are available here.
Additional details on the Game On 2010 competition are available on the official Game On 2010 site.

Tags: Mozilla, Game On 2010, Mozilla Labs Gaming
About the author: George Norman
George is a news editor.
You can follow him on Google+, Facebook or Twitter

I Hope you LIKE this blog post! Thank you!
What do YOU have to say about this
blog comments powered by Disqus
Popular News
By George Norman on 17 Aug 2017
With the blockbuster movie season upon us, Sony decided to celebrate the occasion with a sale: the Attack of the Blockbusters Sale that offers discounts of up to 50% (60% if you’re a PlayStation Plus member) on a ton of PS4 video games.
By George Norman on 17 Aug 2017
Samsung’s new T5 portable solid-state drive (PSSD) uses the latest 64-layer V-NAND technology, offers between 250GB and 2TB of storage capacity, has a lightweight and shock-resistant design that’s smaller than the average business card, and delivers industry-leading transfer speeds of up to 540 MB/s.
Related News
Sponsored Links
Hot Software Updates
Top Downloads
Become A Fan!
Link To Us!
Game On 2010: Mozilla Introduces the First Batch of Judges
HTML Linking Code